

MINUTES OF NZTROF 2023 AGM held Sunday 19th November 2023 at 10.30am via Zoom

Present:	Executive Members:
	 Bernard Hickey (President/Chairman) – Hawkes Bay Sally Blyth (Vice President) – Auckland Allan Fenwick - Manawatu Jill Lunn - Waikato/BOP Brian O'Dea – Wanganui/Taranaki Neil Miller (Co-opted) - Auckland Denise Mayhew (Executive Officer)
In Attendance:	 Members: Mark Verran – Manawatu (Reserve Delegate) Allan Pate – Auckland (Reserve Delegate)
	 Jim Keyte - Waikato
Apologies:	Received from:
	 Craig Leishman and Dr Alan Jackson – Auckland Brian and Lesley Court – Central South Island Lee Somervell – Hawkes Bay
1. Welcome President Bernard	Hickey (Chair) opened the meeting at 10:30am and welcomed everyone to

President Bernard Hickey (Chair) opened the meeting at 10:30am and welcomed everyone to the 2023 NZTROF AGM.

2. Apologies

Moved that the Apologies as presented be accepted. B Hickey/B O'Dea. Carried.

3. Condolences

The Chair asked for a pause of silence to remember those members who had died in the previous year.

4. Minutes of AGM 9 October 2022

<u>Moved</u> that the Minutes of the AGM held on 9 October 2022, as posted on the NZTROF website, be confirmed as a true and correct record of proceedings. *N Miller/B O'Dea. Carried.*

5. Matters Arising: Nil

6. President's Report: Bernard Hickey

The President spoke to his written report, which is available on the NZTROF website. The main development in the past year has been Entain coming on board in offering stakes and funding changes and improvements for the next five years. This was overdue and the President expressed the hope that this was going to be a good venture. NZTR will need to work with a range of bodies, including Owners and Betting agencies.

A matter that the President felt should be raised with NZTR was the fact that in higher Stakes races, it was the same horses racing all the time.

The Executive held a workshop on 18 June 2023 at which a proposal was developed that would see the Sector members of thoroughbred racing recognised as members of NZTR.

One of the next steps is to prepare a one-page document providing an overview of NZTROF with a request that NZTR send it out to their members.

The President thanked the Executive for their support. He was in turn thanked for all his work on behalf of Owners.

Moved that the President's Report be received. S Blyth/A Fenwick. Carried.

7. Annual Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31st July 2023

(Available on the NZTROF website).

Two typographical errors relating to Year End dates were noted.

<u>Moved</u> that, with the amendments of corrected dates as noted, the Annual Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31st July 2023, prepared by Shelley Tweedy & Associates be received. *B Hickey/A Fenwick. Carried.*

8. Annual Subscriptions and Capitation Fees

<u>Moved</u> that the annual subscription (Single \$60, Dual \$65) and capitation fees remain the same for the 2024/2025 year. *B Hickey/S Blyth. Carried.*

The President confirmed that there is now one card only for a Dual membership, which is a cost saving measure.

9. Confirmation of Delegates of Regional Associations

The Regional Delegates and Reserve Delegates were confirmed.

- Hawkes Bay: Bernard Hickey; Reserve Lee Somervell
- Auckland: Sally Blyth; Reserve Allan Pate
- Waikato/Bay of Plenty: Jill Lunn; Reserve Berri Schroder
- Manawatu: Allan Fenwick; Reserve Mark Verran (Manawatu AGM is set for 14 December)
- Wanganui/Taranaki: Brian O'Dea; Reserve Ian Hackett

• Central South Island: Pete Faulkner

10. Appointments of Patron and Accountants

NZTROF Patron: A R Galbraith KC NZTROF Accountants: Shelley Tweedy & Associates Ltd. Nominated by B Hickey, seconded by J Lunn, they were duly confirmed.

11. Nomination for President

A Fenwick expressed Manawatu's confidence in President Hickey. B Hickey was nominated by Manawatu, seconded by Auckland. He was duly elected.

12. Notice of Motion – NZTROF Life Membership Nomination: Allan Fenwick (Manawatu)

President Bernard Hickey read out a citation for Allan Fenwick who was nominated for NZTROF Life Membership by Hawkes Bay Owners Association and seconded by Manawatu Owners Association.

Allan has had a love of racing since his youth and has had fifty years in racing, contributing at national and international level. He has served on the Board of the TAB and the Board of the NZ Racing Authority. He was the General Manager at Awapuni and CEO of the NZ Racing Conference. Allan has also served as a member of the International Cataloguing Standards Committee representing the Asian Racing Federation.

A full bio is available on the NZTROF website.

Allan was thanked by those present for his work, and for his valuable mentoring. He responded by saying that he was humbled by the nomination.

Allan Fenwick was duly confirmed as a Life Member of NZTROF.

13. General Business

Bernard Hickey advised that the NZTR AGM will take place at Te Rapa Racecourse on 29th November 2023. Those who are members of a Racing Club can attend, but it is necessary to register. A digital version of the 2022/2023 NZTR Annual Report is available on their website. He has questions around the financial loss associated with the SNS project, and the costs (direct and indirect) and benefits of the Grand Tour promotion.

Bernard also reported that it was Cameron George's last year as Chairman of NZTR. There have been some strong applicants for the position.

In terms of racetracks, Bernard believed that CEO Bruce Sharrock was doing a good job.

Vice President Sally Blyth acknowledged Jim Keyte (former Secretary/Treasurer) and Denise Mayhew (new Executive Officer) for their efforts in transitioning this role over the past year.

Brian O'Dea congratulated Neil Miller on his work on the Owners Bulletin stating that, in his opinion, the latest issue was the best yet.

There was no further business and the meeting closed at 11:15am.

Denise Mayhew Executive Officer, NZTR Owners Federation

