# AUCKLAND THOROUGHBRED RACEHORSE OWNERS ASSOCIATION

## **ANNUAL REPORT 2021 - 2022**

# Our goal - to improve the economics, integrity and pleasure of the sport of thoroughbred racing on behalf of all owners



So Gorgeous winning at Avondale on 4<sup>th</sup> June 2022 for Mrs VG Healey, Mrs AC Paykel, AK Stove, Mrs GN & Est late GR Webb

(All Photos courtesy of www.raceimages.co.nz)

# NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING TO BE HELD IN LADY FISHER ROOM ASCOT STAND ELLERSLIE





So Gorgeous – Avondale win – delight for all the owners

## AUCKLAND THOROUGHBRED RACEHORSE OWNERS ASSOCIATION

President:	Mike Gething; Email: mike@southerlylabradors.co.nz Phone: 027 244 2143		
Vice President:	Sally Blyth; Email: sally@beyondlimits.co.nz Ph: 021 480323		
Secretary:	Raewyn McKenzie; Email: raewyn.mckenzie@ema.co.nz		
NZTROF Delegate	: Sally Blyth <b>Reserve Delegate</b> : Mike Gething		
Committee: Frances Crimmins	Email: francescrimmins@hotmail.com		
Neil Miller	Email: neilandjeanette@yahoo.com Ph: 021 534 569		
Michael Dowd	Email: michael.dowd@xtra.co.nz Ph: 021 888 8128		
Pat Woollaston	Email: pat@southerlylabradors.co.nz		
Virginia Healey	Email virginiahealey21@gmail.com		
Elliot Wilton	Email elliot.wilton@activ8retail.co.nz		
Lex Paterson	Email akpaterson40@outlook.com		

### **AGENDA**

Paul Wilcox of ATR will address us at the start of the meeting

- § Apologies
- § Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting
- § Matters arising
- § President's Report
- § Financial Report
- § Matters arising
- § Election of Officers
- President
- Vice President
- Committee
- § General Business

In accordance with our Rules nominations to serve on the committee can be made from the floor at the meeting.

The current committee would welcome earlier nominations which can be made to any committee members listed above.

#### - PRESIDENTS REPORT 2022

I think most racehorse owners are 'glass half full' people which is why they are so much fun to be around! As we slowly recover from the combined misfortunes of Covid and the inadequate management of the racing industry all one's inner strengths and powers of positive thinking need to take centre stage.

Slowly things are improving. Stakes are up a little bit more - which is good, and owners have the still ever closer prospect of greater returns from the new Auckland Thoroughbred Racing Inc to look forward to.

Congratulations to all those who have enjoyed success with their horses this year.

Our social race-day could not happen this September/October as per usual due to heavy booking at Counties with Ellerslie being closed. It has been provisionally booked for February 18<sup>th</sup> 2023 at Pukekohe and will be held in the Oaks Room – the same area which we enjoyed last time we were there. Invitation emails and more details will be sent out closer to the time.

My sincere thanks to your committee, Neil Miller, Sally Blyth, Raewyn Mc Kenzie, Frances Crimmins, Elliot Wilton, Lex Paterson, Michael Dowd, Virginia Healey and Pat Woollaston. You are a wonderful group of enthusiastic supportive companions.

A special thank you to Michael Dowd, who was our Secretary/Treasurer for many years and remained on committee after stepping down from that role. He has advised he will retire from committee this year.

On that note should any of you feel you would like to contribute your time and energy to the Auckland Owners Association committee you would be welcomed.



Night Night Dora – won at Te Aroha on 27th November 2021 for M Gething. A&K Paterson, J Stubbs, E Wilton, J Rodgers, J Gilchrist, S Dower, T&V Pascoe, J&J Peters, G&C Taylor, M Corboy, F Crimmins & P Woollaston

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE AUCKLAND THOROUGHBRED RACEHORSE OWNERS' ASSOCIATION INC, HELD VIA ZOOM ON WEDNESDAY, 27 OCTOBER 2021, AT 7.00 PM.

Regrettably, the recording of the minutes of the 2020/2021 AGM have been irretrievably lost.

We can confirm the following as at 30 June 2021:

Financials -

Trading account	\$4,739.99
Rapid Save	324.72
Travel Account	174.18
Term Deposit	10,849.36

Committee for 2022 - Mike Gething - President, Sally Blyth - Vice President,

Raewyn McKenzie -Secretary,

Neil Miller, Michael Dowd, Frances Crimmins, Elliot Wilton, Pat Woollaston, Lex Paterson, Virginia Healey



Mr Maestro winning at Avondale on 2<sup>nd</sup> April 2022 for E & Mrs MH Dornauer, DW Mace ONZM, JG & Mrs RA Stubbs

#### AUCKLAND THOROUGHBRED RACEHORSE OWNERS

#### ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 221844

#### FINANCIAL STATEMENT FOR FINANCIAL YEAR AUGUST 2021 – JULY 2022

Cheque Account	
Income	
Subscriptions	2,977.40
Interest	2.56
Total Income	2,979.96
Expenditure	
AP Transfers	55.00
Total Expenses	55.00
Excess Income	2,924.96
Plus Opening Balance	
1/8/2021	3,933.33
Current Balance	\$6,858.29
Rapid Save Account	
Income	

Opening Balance 1/8/2021	324.72
AP Transfers	55.00
Interest	1.55

Current Balance	\$381.27
Nil	0.00
Expenditure	
	381.27

#### Assets

Cheque Account	6,858.29
Rapid Save Account	381.27
Term Deposit	10,945.87
Travel Account	174.26

Total Assets \$18,359.69

This is to certify that there are nil liabilities for the Auckland Thoroughbred Racehorse Owners Association.

Raewyn McKenzie

**R**aewyn McKenzie Secretary

#### **Auckland Members**

P Bartley, Sally Blyth, Maurice Brighouse, Wendy Bunting, David Burns, JT Cassin, James M Chapman, Barry De Lore, Rodney Doidge, Mrs JL Egan, Jacqueline Fenwick, Carl Fergusson, Claire Fergusson, AR Galbraith QC, Murray J Gilmore, Kylie Grass, Miss JJ Harkness, Virginia Healey, Janet Hepi, JL Kirby, Marie Leicester, Craig Leishman, Paul Martin, Raewyn McKenzie, RB McLaren Ltd, Ramon McPhee, Daniel Nakhle, John Newman, NZTBA, SL Painton, David Paykel, Howard Perry, Murray Rutledge, DS Shuker, Wayne Slee, John Struthers, Mark Taylor, Ryan Trigg, Rob Tunnicliffe, EM Tynan, BWP Wright.

#### **Dual Membership**

David Archer (Archer Equine), TW Archer (Archer Trust), SR & LM Autridge, Peter & Janice Bell, Bryan & Mrs Deidre Black, Rayner & Lynn Bonnington, Martin & Robyn Brady, Glen & Roselle Climo, Keiran & E Corby, Frances Crimmins & Elliot Wilton, Caroline & Craig Crosby-McIlroy, Richard & Karena Davey, Michael & Barbara Dowd, Susan & Andrew Dower-Titter, Emblem Ltd, HA & Mrs S Fletcher, Mike & Pat Gething-Woollaston, Brenda & Barry Gerard, Ashley & Suzanne Goodwin-Selak., A Bosma Go Racing Ltd, Craig & Sandra Grammer, Lorraine & Gary Grant-Pratt, Haunui Bloodstock, Sue & Grant Howard-Dockery, Alan T & CM Jackson, Shayne & Benjamin Jeffcoat, Chris & Trevor Jones-Clarke, F & SG Kearney, Brett & Rosemary Kendall Carter, Michael & Miss Celia Lewis –Galbraith, Brendan & Jo Lindsay, Lion Racing Ltd, E John & Mrs Kathryn Long, John & Sue Maasland, Bruce & Annette Mattison, Selwyn & Judy Maynard, Joan & William McFlinn, Bridette & John Meehan – Clapham, G & GJ Merkulov-King, Sivaswamy & Jayanth Mohanakrishnan, WL & Mrs EE Mountfort, RG & RE Osborne, Allan & Lorna Pate, Lex & Katrina Paterson, Rosalia & R Pimm, Donald & Dame Wendy Pye, ND & DG Robinson-Simmons, Diane & Shane Rushworth – Voice, Lyn & Bruce Salvidge-Amies, Gerald & Bruce Shand, Brian & Wendy Simmons, Mike & Dale Smith-D'Rose, P & S Singh, Martin & Lia Stam, Mrs VC & Clayton Stevenson, Derek & Judy Stubbs, John G & Mrs RA Stubbs, Chris & Lynley Talbot, Ross & Carole Thompson, JC & Mrs MA Thompson, Vern & Margaret Trillo, Evan & Madeep Twomey, Janice & Heather Volz, Geoff & Alison Ward-Bruce, Gwynyth & Philip Webb, Richard & Glenda Webb, Paul & Jo Wilcox, W Brian & Diana Wilson – Goulding Federation Life Member – Neil & Jeanette Miller

Life Members - Mrs BP George, Mrs Joan Palmer

#### AUCKLAND THOROUGHBRED

#### **RACEHORSE OWNERS ASSOCIATION**